St Mary's Middle -  Muffled

St Mary's Middle - Muffled

£6.99Price

PLEASE NOTE THIS BOOK IS A DONATION TO ST MARY'S C OF E MIDDLE SCHOOL.

 

A young girl learns how to cope with her noise sensitivity and step outside of her comfort zone in this "thoughtful" (Beth Turley, author of If This Were a Story and The Last Tree Town), heartwarming middle grade novel that's perfect for fans of Tune It Out by Jamie Sumner and El Deafo by Cece Bell. Ten-year-old Amelia does not like noise. From subway brakes to squeaky sneakers, she is sensitive to sound, just like her dad.

Amelia has always worn noise-canceling headphones, but now that she's going into fifth grade, her parents want her to stop wearing them. To make matters worse, she must learn to play an instrument! Or, as Amelia sees it, make noise on purpose. To help Amelia cope, her father gives her a pair of earmuffs to wear instead.

Even with her new earmuffs, Amelia struggles at school...until she gets partnered with Madge in music class. Madge is loud and bold and goofy-everything Amelia is not. And so Amelia is surprised when Madge wants to be friends.